• About This Booklist

    People often ask me for guidance about books to read, particularly those that would enhance the curriculum outlined in Wake Up To Your Life.

    I will post new titles each week, along with brief comments outlining the main topic, level of practice for which it is appropriate, and how you might use the book. Each entry is also categorized according to the chapter of Wake Up To Your Life it might relate to.

    If you are familiar with a given title and have something to say about it, please add your comments as they will help other viewers find books that will be helpful to them.
  • Links

  • Amazon Customers:

    If you're going to buy one of these books from Amazon, please click on the cover image to order. They will pay Unfettered Mind a small commission, which helps us continue to provide this website for free. Please note: this only works if you click on "Add to cart" as soon as you get to Amazon. If you do a search or go to another page before adding it to your cart, it doesn't count.

King, Warrior, Magician, Lover (Robert Moore & Douglas Gillette)

King, Warrior, Magician, LoverFull Title: King, Warrior, Magician, Lover
Major Topic: the four archetypes associated with the four ways of working
Level: all levels

Detailed analysis of the reactive, balanced, mature and immature manifestations of these four male archetypes, very helpful in understanding decay and corruption in the four immeasurables. How to use: learn different ways the archetypes manifest and then observe where one is in or out of balance.

Even though the book focuses on the male archetypes, there is much here that is relevant and will speak to women also. Understanding the mature and immature manifestations is helpful in seeing where one is stuck in the past. Understanding the balanced and reactive manifestations is helpful in seeing where one is not present in one’s life.

Lovingkindness (Sharon Salzberg)

LovingkindnessFull Title: Lovingkindness: The Revolutionary Art of Happiness
Major Topic: Lovingkindness
Level: all levels

Sharon draws from her own experience to describe the practice of meditation and lovingkindness. Essentially a practice manual, use this book to clarify your practice of lovingkindness.

How to Cook Your Life (Dogen & Uchiyama Roshi)

How to Cook Your LifeFull Title: How to Cook Your Life: From the Zen Kitchen to Enlightenment
Major Topic: how to live in awareness
Level: middle, experienced and advanced

Probably the best book describing what living in awareness is actually like. Previously published as From the Zen Kitchen to Enlightenment: Refining Your Life. On the first read, go straight to the commentary. The central chapters are high level descriptions of how to live the four immeasurables at the level of awareness.

Wisdom of No Escape (Pema Chodron)

Wisdom of No EscapeFull Title: Wisdom of No Escape: and the Path of Lovingkindness
Major Topic: Mind training
Level: all levels

Pema Chödron’s warm, folksy, but solid presentations of mind training (lojong) methods and how to apply them in one’s life. A good and very accessible introduction to these practices.